Disallow access to the site?

Anonymous

Disallow access to the site?

Posted:21 Aug 2008 (12:36 UTC)
I want to use BW for an extranet site. Users are only allowed access to the site if they have permission. Without permission no one should see any page with menus etc.
In Server Settings I check Disallow access to the site. If I log in as admin I get to the admin's 'My page'. However, if I log in as a normal user nothing happens. The url point to my.php but the same log page is presented.

How do I fix this? What is exactly meant with 'Permission'?
kinderlehrer

Re: Disallow access to the site?

Posted:28 Sep 2008 (07:55 UTC)
Hi Anonymous

I am only a beginner myself but what I did in a situation similar to yours was to edit one of the groups that have already been assigned permissions (the ability to do or see certain things on the site) so that they could see the items in the menu bar that I wanted to be public, but if they were not admin, they couldn't see 'my' menu (more on that later).

To do this go to Kernel>Users>Groups & Permissions and you will see what permissions are the default.

What I did was change the registered users group, by clicking on the edit icon in the top right section of the page where registered users list is, and going to the 'Assign Permissions' tab.

I striped most things out, as I am rolling out the site in stages. So I launched the forums (installed phpbb) first. Then the wiki/image galleries/file galleries will come next, along with newsletters, rss etc.

At each stage I can change the permissions for the registered users group - adding more as I choose.

Now about the admin menu. I used the nexus package to make a totally seperate menu from the one that is displayed to the registered users (or the anonymous group).

This is not so intuitive, but I will try to explain.